Department of Neurosurgery

Faculty & Staff

Below, you can find links to staff galleries, with brief faculty profile introductions following those. To read complete faculty profiles, choose a link on the left hand side under "Section Links" or click "Read More" on the profile of your choice below.

Staff Galleries

David F. Jimenez, MD, FACS, Chairman

David F. Jimenez, MD, FACSInternationally recognized pediatric neurosurgery expert David F. Jimenez, MD, serves as the chairman and a professor of the Department of Neurosurgery at the University of Health Science Center at San Antonio. Prior managerial and academic appointments include 12 years of both neurosurgery director and tenured professorial positions at the University of Missouri-School of Medicine and University of Missouri Hospital and Clinics (Columbia). His areas of expertise in the surgery suite and research lab have always focused on both pediatric and general neurosurgery.
|

Jean-Louis R. Caron, MD, FRCS(c), FACS

Jean-Louis R. Caron, MD, FRCS(c), FACSJean-Louis R. Caron is a professor in the Department of Neurosurgery at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio who is widely recognized as an expert in cerebrovascular surgery. His research interests include innovative therapies for neurovascular disorders. Moreover, he has an interest in radiosurgery and complex spinal surgery.

|

John R. Floyd II, MD

John R. Floyd II , MDAssistant Professor John R. Floyd began his medical career in high school after obtaining early acceptance to the University of Alabama School of Medicine at the age of eighteen. Prior to matriculating, Dr. Floyd did finish his undergraduate degree (summa cum laude), studied public health policy and clinical trial design at the University of Adelaide, South Australia on a Rotary International Scholarship.
|

Alexander M. Papanastassiou, MD

Alexander M. Papanastassiou, MDAlexander M. Papanastassiou, MD, is an assistant professor in the Department of Neurosurgery at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. His areas of expertise are general neurosurgery and surgery for epilepsy, trigeminal neuralgia, and movement disorders including Parkinson’s disease.
|

Ahmed Shakir, MD

Ahmed Shakir, MDAhmed R. Shakir, MD, is an assistant clinical professor in the Department of Neurosurgery at the University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio. His areas of expertise are general neurosurgery and spine surgery.
|

Izabela Tarasiewicz, MD

Izabela Tarasiewicz, MD

Assistant Professor Izabela Tarasiewicz, MD, joined the Department of Neurosurgery in February of 2015. She is an accomplished physician and the medical director of neurosurgery at North Central Baptist Hospital.

|


Jeremiah Johnson, MD

Jeremiah Johnson, MDAssistant Professor Jeremiah Johnson, MD, graduated from the Neurosurgery Training program at the University of Miami in Miami, Florida where he completed a two-year fellowship in Endovascular Neurosurgery in addition to his neurosurgical training. He then moved to Stanford University where he completed a fellowship in Open Cerebrovascular Neurosurgery under the mentorship of Dr. Gary Steinberg. While in California, Dr. Johnson underwent graduate training in the Stanford Bio-innovation and Design program. Dr. Johnson’s dual training in minimally invasive endovascular neurosurgery and traditional open cerebrovascular neurosurgery gives him the rare ability to treat brain and spine blood vessel disorders from either inside or outside the vessel, depending on the best treatment strategy for the patient.
|

Ramesh Grandhi, MD

Ramesh Grandhi, MDRamesh Grandhi, MD, is an assistant professor in the Department of Neurosurgery at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. He serves as the Director of Neurotrauma at UTHSCSA and is also a dual trained cerebrovascular neurosurgeon, and thus can treat vascular pathologies through endovascular techniques as well as via traditional, open microsurgical approaches. In addition, his expertise in endovascular approaches has allowed him to have significant experience in treating patients with stroke, ranging from therapies involving carotid and intracranial stenting to mechanical thrombectomy for acute strokes.
|

Lee A. Birnbaum, MD

Lee Birnbaum, MDAssistant Professor Lee Birnbaum, MD, MS, is a board certified neurologist in the Departments of Neurology and Neurosurgery at UTHSCSA. He is also board certified in the subspecialty of vascular neurology. In addition to his clinical neurology training, Dr. Birnbaum completed a two-year endovascular neurosurgery fellowship. Dr. Birnbaum is the interim Director of Stroke at UTHSCSA, holder of the Ross J. Sibert Research Fund Distinguished Chair, and only endovascular neurologist in San Antonio. His dual training in neurology and endovascular neurosurgery gives him a unique understanding in the realm of vascular disorders of the nervous system.
|

Augusto Parra, MD, MPH, FAHA

Augusto Parra, MD, MPHDr. Augusto Parra is an associate professor in the Department of Neurosurgery and director of the Neuroscience ICU at UTHSCSA. Prior to his academic appointment at UTHSCSA, Dr. Parra held several academic appointments in the Departments of Neurology and Neurosurgery at the Medical College of Pennsylvania, and Columbia University, College of Physicians and Surgeons were he holds an adjunct academic position in the Department of Neurology.
|

Rachel Garvin, MD

Rachel Garvin, MDDr. Garvin is an assistant professor in the Department of Neurosurgery who is board-certified emergency physician fellowship trained in neurocritical care. She specializes in the emergency and critical care management of patients with disorders of the brain and spine.  Her emergency medicine background makes her one of a very small number of physicians in the country with this combination of specialty training.
|

Ali Seifi, MD, FACP

Ali Seifi, MDAli Seifi, MD, FACP, is an assistant professor in the Department of Neurosurgery at the University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio who has served as an attending physician since 2012. He oversees the care of patients in University Hospital’s state-of-the-art Neurointensive Care Unit (NICU), as well as leads the unit’s daily operations. This NICU is the only intensive care unit in the region fully dedicated to the care of neurologically ill patients and staffed with physicians and nurses specially trained in the care of patients with brain, spine, and nervous system diseases. Dr. Seifi received his medical degree from Shiraz University of Medical Sciences (SUMS), where he graduated with honors in 1996. He did his first residency in Anesthesiology and Critical Care at SUMS and then did his second residency in Internal Medicine at New Jersey’s AtlantiCare Medical Center. Finally, he did two years of an extensive Neurocritical Care fellowship at Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia, a well-known center for Neurosciences. He is triple board certified in Anesthesiology, Internal Medicine and Neurocritical Care.
|

Naome Sayre, PhD

Naome Sayre, PhDDr. Naomi L. Sayre is an assistant professor of research for the UTHSCSA Department of Neurosurgery. She is primarily interested in investigating how cholesterol homeostasis affects the brain’s ability to recover after stroke or traumatic injury and how aging affects the long term outcome.
|

News Stories
UT System ranked 7th most innovative in the world
Monday Sep 28, 2015
Abby Jack's Story
Tuesday Jul 28, 2015
First Lab Meeting of the year
Thursday Jul 16, 2015
Patient Visit - Carlos
Wednesday Jul 8, 2015
Patient Visit - Ana
Wednesday Jul 1, 2015
Upcoming Events