Derrick Sun, M.D.

Department: Neurosurgery
Position: Assistant Professor

Personal Statement:

Derrick Sun, MD, is an assistant professor in the Department of Neurosurgery at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. He specializes in the treatment of spine trauma, spinal tumors, spinal deformities, and degenerative diseases affecting the cervical, thoracic and lumbar spine. Dr. Sun has a particular interest in minimally invasive spine surgery, which allows patients to recover faster with less postoperative pain than traditional surgery. He believes in a comprehensive, multidisciplinary approach to treatment and utilizes state-of-the-art technology to provide the best possible care to his patients. He trained as a fellow with nationally-renowned experts in the field of spinal surgery at the University of Wisconsin-Madison Department of Orthopedics and Rehabilitation. This makes Dr. Sun one of a handful of surgeons in the country with dual neurosurgery and orthopedic spine surgery training. He brings this unique complement of skills to the department in the diagnosis and treatment of spinal disorders.



Dr. Sun received his undergraduate degree with honor from the California Institute of Technology. He attended medical school at the University of Texas Medical Branch, where he was elected to the AOA Honor Medical Society during his junior year. Dr. Sun completed his neurological surgery residency training with the Department of Neurosurgery at the University of Colorado Denver School of Medicine. As a resident, he was nominated to the Gold Humanism Honor Society for exemplifying humanistic patient care and serving as an outstanding teacher and role model to medical students.


1. Liu D, Zhao Y, Sun D, Fox R.O.. Expression, crystallization and preliminary crystallographic analysis of YciF, a stress protein from Escherichia coli 2004 Dec:2389-2390.

Awards & Accomplishments:

01/2009 The Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Award: UCHSC

01/2009 Gold Humanism Honor Society: UCHSC

01/2008 The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi

01/2007 Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society, Junior Year Inductee: UTMB Chapter

01/2007 M. Jeanne Fairweather, M.D. Endowed Scholarship

01/2006 Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges

01/2006 Anderson Scholarship: UTMB, 2004, 2006

01/2005 McGraw-Hill/Lange Academic Excellence Award: UTMB

01/2005 Medical Student Summer Research Program (MSSRP) Best Neuroscience Poster Aw: UTMB

01/2005 Dr. Robert and Katherine Blair Endowed Anatomy/Neuroanatomy Award: UTMB

01/2004 Spam Lite™ Award: Gross Anatomy and Radiology course, UTMB

01/2004 Campus Life and Master’s Service Award: Caltech

01/2000 Dr. J. Gibson Pleasants Scholarship: Caltech

01/2000 National Merit Scholarship: Shell Oil Foundation 2000-2004